Palace of Fine Arts
Edwin Lutyens

7 Hammersmith Terrace

Home of "typographer and antiquary" Sir Emery Walker from 1903-1933, 7 Hammersmith Terrace will be, for the first (and possibly last) time, open to the public - but only from April to July 2005. #7 is one in a row of seventeen tall, narrow homes built between 1755 and 1800 near Chiswick Mall in Hammersmith, London. The house has been preserved, replete with much of the contents of Walker's personal collections, which included textiles by William Morris (some of which came from Morris' own Kelmscott House, not far away), furniture - much of it from the collection of the great Philip Webb, a close friend of Walker's and William Morris' and considered one of the founders of the English Arts & Crafts Movement, and many well-preserved examples of textiles, ceramic, metal & woodwork made in the Arts & Crafts tradition. If you are in or near London, please try to visit one of the underrated gems of the movement, and consider donating a sum to help the preservation and conservation of the home and Walker's collections.

Comments